20 Last-Minute Mother’s Day Gift Ideas and Deals (2019)

Last week, we introduced you to some of our favorite Mother’s Day picks for new moms. Now it’s Saturday, which means that if you’re still sitting on your hands, you might be out of luck. Still, your mother is probably a great one, and many of our deals are continuing throughout the weekend. We added a few more deals that we love that might surprise and delight your mom (on Monday). We also tried to include ones with fast shipping.

Note: When you buy something using the retail links in our stories, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Much like subscribing to WIRED, these contributions help fund the journalism we put out every day. Read more about how this works.

The New Kindle Paperwhite is $40 Off

Amazon

In my gift guide for new mothers, I said that approximately 100 percent of us own a Kindle. It’s light, convenient, and makes it easy to sneak in a few pages in a dim room before going to bed. This is an incredible deal on the new, waterproof Paperwhite that has twice the storage of the old one, a front that’s flush with the bezel, and is compatible with Bluetooth headphones to read books on Audible. Once you’ve bought one for Mom, buy one for yourself. We wrote a separate post on this and other Amazon Deals this weekend. Check it out to learn more.

The new Kindle Paperwhite costs $90 ($40 off)

Last-Minute Home Gifts for Mom

Eufy

Gifts for the Active Mom

Garmin

Gifts for the Techie Mom

Nixplay

Mother’s Day Retail Sale Pages

If you haven’t found what you want yet, here are a few links straight to retailer pages that may help.

More Great WIRED Stories

social [...]  read more

UFC 237 live stream: how to watch Namajunas vs Andrade tonight from anywhere

The waiting is over…it’s time for MMA fans to turn their attention to the Octagon in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. That’s where Rose Namajunas and Jessica Andrade – as well as plenty more UFC stars – will do battle tonight, and you’re in the right place to discover how to get a UFC 237 live stream – it doesn’t even matter where in the world you are.

The UFC’s big brawl in Brazil is looking like one not to be missed and the Women’s Strawweight title bout is just the tip of the iceberg. A particularly brutal iceberg.

UFC 237 – where and when?
UFC 237 will take place today (Saturday, May 11) at the Jeunesse Arena in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

The main card for UFC 237 will begin at around 10pm ET / 7pm PT / 3am BST, so we wouldn’t expect the Namajunas vs Andrade clash to kick off until midnight ET at the earliest. You can tune in earlier at 6.15pm ET (3.15pm PT, 11.15pm BST) to catch the early prelims or at 8pm ET (5pm PT, 1am BST) to watch the prelims.

One of the key highlights for fans wanting to see a local hero, Anderson Silva is just the ticket. He [...]  read more

After burning through $1 billion, Jawbone’s Hosain Rahman has raised $65 million more

Not everyone gets a second chance in Silicon Valley. Entrepreneur Hosain Rahman has been given many more than that. Though his last company, Jawbone, which produced wireless speakers and Bluetooth earpieces, went kaput in 2017 after burning up $1 billion in venture funding over the course of ten years, Rahman has managed to raise $65.4 million for his new company. So shows a new SEC filing that, coincidentally or otherwise, was processed late yesterday while most of the world’s attention was focused on Uber’s IPO.

The company, Jawbone Health, isn’t brand new. According to reports of two years ago and Rahman’s LinkedIn bio, he began working in earnest on his newest endeavor when the original Jawbone was running on fumes in the summer of 2017.

In fact, according to LinkedIn, Jawbone Health now employs [...]  read more