PS5 price and pre-order could be revealed Wednesday, as Sony confirms stream PS5

We’ve been waiting to learn the PS5 price, release date and pre-order details for what feels like an eternity, but that wait may finally come to an end on Wednesday.

Sony has confirmed a PlayStation 5 Showcase streaming event for Wednesday, September 16 – and it’s the price and availability that’s really the only major information we’re still waiting to learn.

The PS5 Showcase will kick off at 1pm PT / 4pm ET /  9pm BST, and we’ll be reporting live to bring you everything you need to know, and what it means, as it happens.

Price wars

And it’s the PS5 price which will be examined under a microscope after Microsoft revealed competitive prices for the Xbox Series S and Xbox Series X a week before.

The two PS5 variants are expected to be more expensive than their Xbox counterparts – unless Sony springs something of a surprise to bring its pricing more in line with its rival.

As a reminder, the Series S price is $299.99 / £249.99, while the Series X price is $499 / £449 / AU$749, and both consoles will be available on November 10.

The PlayStation 5 will be available in two variants – a digital only option (with no disc drive), and what we expect to be the core PS5 unit which has a 4K UHD Blu-ray drive.

Both consoles offer an AMD Zen 2-based CPU with 8 cores at 3.5GHz, 16GB of GDDR6 RAM, a custom 825GB SSD, and a custom RDNA 2 AMD GPU that puts out 10.28 TFLOPs of processing power. 

social experiment by Livio Acerbo #greengroundit #techradar https://www.techradar.com/news/ps5-price-and-pre-order-could-be-revealed-wednesday-as-sony-confirms-stream