Smart glasses could kill smartphones in the next five years

I realize the irony of publishing this in the week that Intel announced it was pulling the plug on its smart glasses project Vaunt (pictured) but I think that the smartphone’s days are numbered, and smart glasses are going to be the thing that kills it. 

If you’re anything like me, you break out in a cold sweat whenever your phone’s battery drops below 10%. The idea of going without a phone would feel like losing a limb. An invisible digital limb, but still, a limb.

So the idea of not having a phone anymore seems like a totally alien concept, but I’ve seen some emerging technology recently that’s convinced me that we’re only a few years away from the end of the smartphone. 

Now I don’t mean that in five years time the smartphone will be gone completely, that is madness. I just mean that the technology that is going to kill it is here already and in five years we’ll have heard the first death knoll. Let me explain.

Getting to where we are now

It was 2007 when Steve Jobs first walked out on stage read more

Apple is offering to replace the battery on some 13-inch MacBook Pros

If your 13-inch, non-Touch Bar MacBook Pro has been hit by a nasty issue of an expanding battery, Apple has got your back – the company has launched a battery replacement program for affected laptops, which apparently are only a few in number and were manufactured between October 2016 and October 2017.

“Apple has determined that, in a limited number of 13-inch MacBook Pro (non Touch Bar) units, a component may fail causing the built-in battery to expand,” says Apple. “This is not a safety issue and Apple will replace eligible batteries, free of charge.”

Just type in your computer’s serial number to see if your MacBook Pro is eligible for a battery replacement. If it is, you can send it off to Apple or take it into an Apple Store to get the battery swapped for free. You can even get a refund if you’ve already had the battery replaced. The offer was first spotted by 9to5Google.

Five-year scheme

This doesn’t affect the standard warranty of the laptop, Apple notes read more

Huawei plans to make its digital assistant better at emotions

We know that Huawei is keen on adding as much artificial intelligence to its gadgets as possible, and its phones already ship with an AI assistant in China. That dedicated digital helper is eventually going to roll out elsewhere too, with one key improvement – better emotional interactions for users.

“We want to provide emotional interactions,” Huawei’s Felix Zhang told CNBC. “We think that, in the future, all our end users wish [that] they can interact with the system in the emotional mode. This is the direction we see in the long run.”

In other words, your phone will be able to read your mood and respond accordingly, rather than just feeding back programmed responses (though it’ll do that too). The tone of your voice, how you’re using your phone, and other bits of information could all be crunched to try and get a feel for how you’re doing.

Electric dreams

Zhang pointed to the Samantha assistant in the 2013 movie Her as inspiration for what Huawei is read more

Philips wants to help you doze off more effectively

You know the drill – you go through a ridiculously long and tiring day, just counting down the hours until you can head home and curl back into your bed. You finally turn in for the night and wait for the peaceful lull of a glorious night’s rest – but it never comes. In fact, when you wake up in the morning you feel even more tired than when you went to bed, and the vicious cycle repeats itself.

According to Philips, this is how most adults sleep. Around 40% of adults aged 25-54 get less than 7 to 9 hours of sleep each night. In the US, around 30% of adults suffer from insomnia, while in Europe the figure ranges between 15-27%.

It’s often not easy to get a good night’s rest for several reasons, which is why Philips wants to focus on people getting better quality sleep rather than sleeping in for longer periods. While you may think that getting in more hours of sleep will lead to you feeling more refreshed, that’s not always the case. 

Which is what makes Philips’ SmartSleep read more

How to watch the London Marathon 2018: live stream free anywhere in the world

London Marathon 2018 – where and when

No gold medals for guessing where the London Marathon is being held – the world famous race takes in an exhausting 26 miles and 385 yards (that’s roughly 42.2km in new money) of the UK’s most famous streets and landmarks.

The start times are staggered over the course of the day:

Wheelchair Races – 8.55am BST, 3.55am ET, 12.55am PT

Para Athletics Marathon – 9am BST, 4am ET, 1am PT

Elite Women’s Race – 9.15am BST, 4.15am ET, 1.15am PT

Elite Men’s Race – 10am BST, 5am ET, 2am PT

Mass Race – 10am BST, 5am ET, 2am PT

The surge of the adrenaline, the smell of the vaseline, the shine of the silver foil blanket. It must be London Marathon time! 26.2 gruelling miles around the streets of the United Kingdom’s capital city, it’s one of the world’s most famous long-distance road races. And the 2018 London Marathon is likely to be one of the most watched in recent years, thanks to the presence of one Sir Mo Farah.

Yep, Mo’s read more